Maurice Ravel - Les Chansons Madecasses

Maurice Ravel - Les Chansons madecasses 

I. Nahandove
II. Mefiez-vous des blancs
III. Il est doux de se coucher

Esther- Elisabeth Rispens - Soprano
Nathalie Matthys - Piano
Nikola Kyosev - Flute/ Piccolo
Sebastian De Meester - Cello

Miry Hall, Royal Conservatory of Ghent, Belgium 
5, December, 2014

Cl. Debussy - Les Chansons De Bilitis

Music scene written by Claude Debussy to accompany the recitation of twelve poems by Pierre Louys.

I - Chant Pastoral
II - Les Comparaisons
III - Les Contes
IV - Chanson
V - La Partie d'osselets
VI - Bilitis
VII - Le Tombeau sans nom
VIII - Les Courtisanes egyptiennes
IX - L'Eau pure du bassin
X - La Danseuse aux crotales
XI - Le Souvenir de Mnasidica
XII - La Pluie au matin

Narrator - Esther Rispens
Flute I - Tineke Devoghel
Flute II - Nikola Kyosev
Harp I - Anne Zeuwts
Harp II - Cecile-Marie Lissens
Celeste - Annefleur Roels

Miry Hall, Royal Conservatory of Ghent, Belgium 
5, May, 2014

YouTube Video

Bart Maris' Improvisation class performs music for two Indian silent movies at the Miry hall, Royal Conservatory of Gent, on 15 January, 2014.

Jamaibabu (1931) - This comedy has a country bumpkin hero Gobardhan (Das) visiting his parents-in-law in Calcutta. Making a 'No Nuisance' sign for an address, he gets lost trying to find his friend Amal's (Baurah) room. His subsequent adventures take him to famous locations including Howrah Bridge, the Victoria Memorial and the Maidan. Gobardhan eventually finds his in-laws, feigns illness to prolong his stay, is beaten up when he tries to sneak into his wife's (Radharani) room and gets mistaken for a thief.

Raja Harishchandra (1913) -  Directed and produced by Dadasaheb Phalke.  First screened on April 21, 1913 this is India's first feature-length film. The complete film is no longer available and these are portions of the first and last reels of the original 3700 feet of film.


Mahabub Kahn - zang (lead)
Wahid Kahn - harmonium-zang
Sattar kahn - tabla-dohlak-castagnettes
Jens Pfennig - piano
Leire  Ruiz Garcia - klarinet
Sara Brito Brito - dwarsfluit
Elke Durnez - hoorn
Hadewych van den Ende - klarinet
Mattias de Rijcke - gitaar
Xiao Luo - klarinet
Zhenzhen Xu - dwarsfluit
Benjamin Bertrand - basclarinet
Nikola Kyosev - picollofluit-dwarsfluit
Valerie Trangez - fagot
Bian Xiaoran - viool
Wim Segers - percussie
Peter Vandenberghe - laptop-synths/piano
Bart Maris - trompet/composities/concept

4xHoro / Chetvorno horo

4 x Horo was written by Kalin Yanchev based on Bulgarian  folklore motives.
This piece is characterized by its vivid and typical rhythms and intervals. 

Nikola Kyosev - flute
Kalin Yanchev - guitar
Velislav Godjunov - percussion and tapan (bass drum)

Nikola Kyosev - Mind Cell (Flute/Picc. and Tape)

Mind Cell was written and performed by Nikola Kyosev. You are listening to the live premier performance, at the Plug Festival 2011.

I would like to thank Alistair MacDonald, for his guidance and support during the making process of the piece, as well as Lyubomira Derelieva and Gareth Shaw, for agreeing to "lend" me their voices for the middle section.